We do not know that exact amount of users on the new social networking service from Google, but it seems that there could be quite a few who have elected to keep their profiles private and as such this means that others are unable to connect etc, which is the whole point of Google+ and any social networking site. To address this situation Google has announced on the Google+ Help Section that they will be deleting any account that has a private profile. Users who have kept the details from everyone else have until the end of July to either make the profile public or lose it altogether, so much for giving a trail run!
Here are the details on what Google are planning to do with private profiles on Google+;
“The purpose of Google Profiles is to enable you to manage your online identity. Today, nearly all Google Profiles are public. We believe that using Google Profiles to help people find and connect with you online is how the product is best used. Private profiles don’t allow this, so we have decided to require all profiles to be public. Keep in mind that your full name and gender are the only required information that will be displayed on your profile; you’ll be able to edit or remove any other information that you don’t want to share. If you currently have a private profile but you do not wish to make your profile public, you can delete your profile. Or, you can simply do nothing. All private profiles will be deleted after July 31, 2011.”